Changing Sky

I’m an avid skyscape photographer. Photographing the sky and the clouds has always been my passion since early teenage. I’m also passionate by the night sky and by astronomy. This is my background, just to assure you that I know what I’m talking about when I talk about clouds.

For some years – the last 2-3 years – I’ve noticed a change in the color of the clouds. Usually, the clouds are white with shades of grey. At sunrise and sunset, due to the Sun approaching the horizon and the light passing through several layers of air with various densities, and due to an accumulation of impurities in the air, the clouds are colored in various colors, rainbow colors, or the basic yellow-orange-red, as the Sun is closer to the horizon line. Additionally, there might appear rainbow-like colors when the moonlight or the sunlight goes through certain types of high-altitude clouds – often the cirrus family of clouds – which are made of ice crystals that cause diffraction and a halo effect. But this happens commonly around sunset or sunrise, during chilly autumn/winter/spring mornings. Never in full daylight.

Take a look at the photo below. It’s a part of the sky above my area, two mornings ago. It’s a mountain area where pollution is quite reduced. Since it’s summer, the days are long, and at around 8 o’clock the Sun is already up in the sky for 2-3 hours.

ClimateChange

Because you may not see it clearly, I enhanced below the saturation and the gamma correction on the original image. You will notice shades of light green and pink… Well, my friends… this is not normal… at least not in the circumstances I’ve seen it…

ClimateChangeColor

Perhaps this cloud type – a small cirrocumulus fractus – might be seen as a bad example, but I’ve seen ordinary cumulus clouds displaying the same color pattern. I just wanted to trigger an alarm that there is too much pollution in our air, and although we’ll surely be rewarded with fantastic skyscapes in the years to come, this is not good news. I mean, we’re breathing this contaminated air… and these are high-altitude clouds…

It’s time to get responsible. It might already be too late…

One thought on “Changing Sky

  1. Cezar, very interesting article and pictures. I don’t know if you are on ‘SpaceWeather.com’ or not but you might send this in to them. They show pictures from all over the world. It’s where I got the article I sent you with the picture of noctilucent clouds over Cluj. Keep watching the skies! (I know I do!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

