Tarkovsky

Here is a movie I’ve seen yesterday, during yet another lonely Valentine’s Day… It’s Andrei Tarkovsky‘s 1979 deeply psychological film – Stalker. Below is the haunting soundtrack composed by Eduard Artemyev and an excerpt from the climax: the stalker speaks about his vocation of guiding the others into the forbidden zone. I am doing exactly the same thing.

Yes, you’re right, I’m a louse.
I haven’t done any good in this world, and I can’t do any.
I couldn’t give anything even to my wife.
I can’t have any friends either.
But don’t take mine from me!
They’d already taken everything from me back there, behind the barbed wire.
So all that’s mine is here.
You understand? Here! In the Zone!
My happiness, my freedom, my self-respect, it’s all here!
I bring here people like me, desperate and tormented.
People who have nothing else to hope for.
And I can help them!
No one else can help them, only l, the louse, can!
I’m so happy to be able to help them that I want to cry.
And that’s all.
I don’t want anything more.

Leave a Reply

