Janteloven

Even if it doesn’t seem to be so, there is at least one common element between the Scandinavian civilization and the Romanian one: the Laws of Jante.
And perhaps another one: the Y-chromosome DNA haplogroup I (see the map).

Since my return to Cluj-Napoca, I watched everyone, as detached as I could possibly be. I received a lot of feedback, mostly suspicion, hostility and rejection. I questioned myself if I’m not seeing everything through dirty glasses (my own negative defensive projections). I asked the others. I went deep in my inner-mind to find the source of enthusiasm and optimism. I negotiated a lot with myself. I still do…

Years ago, I posted an article on my old blog about Janteloven. I thought that it was an interesting theoretical concept. Now, this concept is reality. My practical reality.

1. You’re not to think you are anything special.
2. You’re not to think you are as good as we are.
3. You’re not to think you are smarter than we are.
4. You’re not to convince yourself that you are better than we are.
5. You’re not to think you know more than we do.
6. You’re not to think you are more important than we are.
7. You’re not to think you are good at anything.
8. You’re not to laugh at us.
9. You’re not to think anyone cares about you.
10. You’re not to think you can teach us anything.

and, the last one…

11. Perhaps you don’t think we know a few things about you?

Here I am, finding the same resistance in the others. Could it possibly be a life lesson I have to learn about myself? Am I forced to discover something outstanding? Or am I mostly surrounded by average-minded individuals, with no common passions?

Perhaps the right thing to do is follow my bliss and become deaf to all criticism and opposition. Perhaps I can flourish elsewhere, where the Jante Laws are not in power… One thing is sure: one should go where is celebrated, not where is tolerated.

I intend to do so.

2 thoughts on “Janteloven

  1. And maybe, just maybe, none of it matters because if we love and accept ourselves, others will feel it and will love and accept us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

