The Monomyth

“People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life. I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking. I think what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonance within our own innermost being and reality, so that we actually feel the rapture of being alive. That’s what it’s all finally about”.

Yes, this is a quote from Joseph Campbell, one of the most fascinating writers in the field of mythology. I wanted to share the image below (click to enlarge!), about the Hero’s Journey. I’ve described the journey in a previous post in Romanian, but this time I cover the same subject in English.

When you read the stages of the myth, think about your life and try to guess where you are today, at what stage. It would be helpful to see your life as several journeys, each having a different length and starting at different moments in your life. For instance, each day of your life, from the moment you wake up until you go to sleep is a journey. School is a journey. Marriage is a journey. Your job (or jobs) can be seen as a journey. And be warned that not all of us finish all stages; some of us are lost during Separation or Initiation and a lot of us do not Return. It’s an exercise in which you must perceive with great clarity the stages – something that can’t be done by many…

Monomyth

The main reason for posting this now is a recent meeting with the Father (stage 9). I try to keep this blog free of personal aspects, but let’s just say I had to face some elements from my Shadow, elements I inherit from my father. One of those elements is a strong emotional imbalance, an instability that generated a lot of doubt about my life. In the middle of the chaos I remembered the quote you see below, about a track that has been there all the time. And then, when I asked myself why I’m so full of doubts, I remembered that my father also doubted a lot of things (it’s a long and painful story). I was relieved to finally accept that I inherit this from him. Yes, it’s bad karma. Yes, it’s a nasty Shadow. But I believe that it is more important to accept who you are, thus erasing your (inferiority) complexes, rather than fight with them, surrender or deny them. Knowing that sometimes in my life I can be emotionally imbalanced and full of doubts, and accepting this as part of myself, gives me increased insight into who I am.

“If you do follow your bliss, you put yourself on a track that has been there all the while, waiting for you, and the life that you ought to be living is the one you are living. When you can see that, you begin to meet people who are in the field of your bliss, and they open doors to you. I say follow your bliss and don’t be afraid, and doors will open where you didn’t know they were going to be”.

2 thoughts on “The Monomyth

  1. Pingback: Mituri Arhetipale Romanesti | Cezar's Space

  2. Pingback: Tír na nÓg | Cezar's Space

Leave a Reply

