Titanic

The ship is sinking, slowly but surely. There is nothing we can do about it. And, while witnessing the disaster, several questions emerge.

Why we never took in consideration the possibility of sinking?
Why we didn’t think about the danger?
How we minimized the danger?
What we did to keep the ship balanced? Why it didn’t work?
How fast we spread the news that the ship is capsizing?

The ship is leaning on one side. Where’s the captain?
Ups!… The captain is me.
I am supposed to be the last to abandon the ship. Nasty! It seems I am the only one left.

I ponder on the best moment to abandon the sinking ship.
If it’s now, would it be too soon? Or too late?
How fast should I make the move? Some people would have abandoned it by now, jumping into the freezing water. Is it wise to jump in the water when you don’t have a lifeboat? Or, have I a rescue-boat?
And what do I take from the ship? Is it something worth taking? What?
One last thought: How am I supposed to abandon the ship? Should it be… “in style” or should I… “just do it”?

The Titanic metaphor is a mixed imagery+strategy existentialist exercise, used in the stress management psychotherapeutic protocol.

Leave a Reply

